The Emerald Heights International School


Emerald Heights Inaugurates MP’s First Climbing Wall With 23rd IMF Zonal Sport Climbing Competition

The Emerald Heights International School inaugurates the First Climbing Wall in Madhya Pradesh with the hosting of 23rd IMF (Indian Mountaineering Foundation) West Zone Sport Climbing Competition which was scheduled on October 25-29, 2017.

The Chief Guests of the Opening Ceremony of the five days competition were Col. HS Chauhan – SM, VSM – President – Indian Mountaineering Foundation (IMF), New Delhi, Ms Poorna Malavath – Youngest Everester – World Record Holder, Mr Shekhar Babu, Three 8000 Meter Peak summitter including Everest, Mr Soni – Vice President – Madhya Pradesh Olympic Association, Mr Muktesh Singh – President – The Emerald Heights International School, Brig MP Yadav – VSM, Chairman – IMF West Zone, Mr RK Sharma – Secretary – IMF West Zone and Mr Kory Mcffee – Chief Route Setter from USA. The guests were welcomed by Brig MP Yadav and Mr Shripad Sapkal – Jt. Secretary – IMF West Zone. During the ceremony Ms Poorna Malavath also satisfied the curious minds of students by answering their questions.

Five minutes demonstration was also given by Siddhi Manerikar (Women Lead Winner) in Lead Climbing, Sahil Khan (Jr. Boys’ Winner) in Bouldering and Shweta Indulkar and Shreya Nankar (Women & Jr. Girls’ Winner) in Speed Climbing before the competition. Our students also attended the demonstration session to understand the sport.

There were around 188 participants from six sates; Maharashtra, Gujarat, Rajasthan, Goa, Madhya Pradesh and Chattisgarh in all three disciplines of sport climbing i.e., Lead, Speed and Bouldering, a noticeable rise compare to last year’s zonal competition held in Ahmedabad, Gujarat.

Col HS Chauhan expressed, “IMF organizes the National Climbing Championship every year under the close supervision and guidance of Col Ajit Dutt – Chairman – IMF National Sport Climbing Committee because we want to give something to the competition prospect in the country, and provide a challenge for the best climbers in India. The National Chairman monitors the performance of all the athletes very closely and encourages them to represent the nation worldwide”. Ms Poorna Malavath expressed, “I think the climbing competition will make an excellent Olympic sport. Mr Muktesh Singh thank the IMF West Zone for organizing the zonal competition in the school and said that the school’s climbing wall is seen to its full utilization in these five days of competition.

In the closing ceremony the Guest of Honour was Shri Lovraj Dharamsaktu, 6 times Everest Summitter. He shared his valuable words of wisdom and appreciated the spirit of school and participants for being a part of the 23rd IMF West Zone Competition. The winners of the competition from all the categories and disciplines were felicitated by Shri Dharamsaktu, Ms. K Saraswati – Vice President – Indian Mountaineering Foundation, Mr Muktesh Singh, Brig MP Yadav, Mr Magan Bissa – IMF Delegate and Mr RK Sharma. Shri Dharamsaktu congratulated all the winners and wished them good luck for the nationals to be held at the same venue in December 2017.

The climbing will be an integral part of Leadership Training on campus and will be part of Olympics from 2020 Games.